From the press release:

This program, established in 2002, was created to encourage gifted jazz composers from throughout the United States. The recipients, who range in age from 14 to 29, are selected through a juried national competition. They receive cash awards, and will be recognized at the annual ASCAP Jazz Wall of Fame ceremony on June 17, 2008. The ASCAP composer/judges for the 2008 competition were: John Fedchock, Jay Leonhart, and Rufus Reid.

This marks the third time I have been awarded in this competition (also placed in 2005 and 2007). My 2008 submission was “Messengers and Providers” which you can listen to here. I am so honored to repeatedly place alongside the best and brightest rising young jazz composers!